4.28.14 The Monday After

Hello all. This past weekend was the second coming of the Powhatan’s Festival of Fiber. I missed the original event while recuperating last year so this was my first. Get that? Anyway, it was a beautiful thing. The festival was so well organized that I think I saw every booth. The vendors were fresh and well stocked (pre-MS&W next weekend) so not worn out with vending and crowds and setting up and pulling down. There was a storm the night before during which I took cover in my powder room, but that did not effect the grounds or the mood.

I was in a festival mode with my friend Issy, who actually bought a hat. I was substituting for Issy’s usual sidekick Linda who was out of town, more’s the pity for her. We saw so many friends and new vendors. And I had such a good time I took very few photos. But I did “get in trouble” as they say with purchases from some very talented people. Another friend Judy was demonstrating spinning on the old great wheel (aka walking wheel or wool wheel). After I gave it to her she restored and loved into a new life! Obviously she enjoys the heck out of it!

Image

OMG the colors! The sky!

Image

 

Awaiting and after shearing…. with panic on part of the sheep. There was also a baby alpaca demonstrating the dance of distress because its mother was gone for shearing.

.Image

Image

Handmade, Raku fired buttons for my Apple Cider Donut cardigan (!) by Dimensions in Virginia Beach. The photo does not do these any justice.

.Image

Five luscious hanks of singles fingering weight SW Merino in the color “Skein Cocaine” for this from KismetFiberWorks.

 

 

I also bought some Leiscester Longwool roving from Gum Tree Farm in Chesapeake VA. Beautiful!

 

We came, we saw, we ate the donuts. ┬áHi Issy! It was fun wasn’t it?

 

One comment on “4.28.14 The Monday After

  1. Issy says:

    I was GREAT fun! And the weather was perfect. i am so glad you had a good time.
    You can be the substitute sidekick anytime!

Comments are closed.