7.23.13 Holland Glimakra among other things

IMG_0640IMG_0641

Oh yes I did let my fingers do the walking whilst recovering from neck surgery. And not just the 1967 Vintage Raleigh Sprite bicycle. It rides great with a new set of tires and a Mr. Lady tune up. Just the thing for an Old Zipperneck.

IMG_0572

A fellow Raveller had a loom for sale and answered my forum plea for a countermarche. It is a Swedish loom, a vintage Glimakra 120 cm, 4 shaft, 6 treadle. Sue brought it from her Vermont farmhouse to meet Mr. Lady when he was cleaning out his mom’s house in Alexandria. She was on a trip to visit the D.C. area. Prior to being in Vermont the loom was in Holland after being built in Sweden then crossed the ocean to live in New England where I don’t think it was ever used. Mr. Lady and I set it up and I am learning about dressing it. A rag rug will be first up.

If I can’t go to Scandinavia I will at least own a bit of it.  I dream big. Thank you Sue!

Suzie the Fiberdog has crossed the Rainbow Bridge. It happened suddenly on July 6th, and it was cancer. Stupid cancer. I miss her each and every day, she was my constant stay at home companion. She got me through the recovery without letting me slack on my activity and then she died. I know she waited til I was recovered and well. I so much appreciated her presence and she will never be replaced. We will have another dog at some point but never another Suzie.IMG_0226 IMG_0227 IMG_0231 IMG_0232 IMG_0580

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We are going to the Outer Banks next week. The weather is almost too hot to go to the beach, much less knit, weave, or ride bikes. But we will have a place to stay unlike the very old days when we camped in a tent and the mosquitoes ate us.

The Emperor agrees.IMG_0709

 

 

Meanwhile I weave another spa towel on old Nilus. This one is for me.

IMG_0706

13 comments on “7.23.13 Holland Glimakra among other things

  1. ChristinaK says:

    The loom is beautiful. So sorry about Suzi. Christina

    Sent from my iPhone. Christina

  2. Cheryl says:

    So sorry about the loss of your dear Suzie. She had such a sweet face. How wonderful that she was there for you through your recovery. I can understand how your heart hurts with missing her. Our furry family members hold such big places in our hearts. Your loom is fabulous! How exciting! Congratulations! Great bike! I have an old red Raleigh too. I’m not sure what model it is. They’re so cute! One of the things I like about them is the chain ring with the cut outs of goose heads/necks. :-)

  3. Issy says:

    Those pictures of Suzie are fabulous. I’ll miss her too. She was always so happy to be included in our knitting groups. She was a lovely nurse maid for you too.

  4. Margreet says:

    Sorry to read about your Suzie. You will keep your happy memories. How great she was there for you during your recovery.
    Happy weaving on your new loom!

  5. rivercityweaves says:

    I’m sorry for your loss. Your loom is beautiful, as is your bike. Glad your pain is reduced. Happy Weaving!

  6. theresa says:

    I almost missed your update!. I am so sorry to read about your loss of Suzie. Stupid cancer is right.
    Big hugs, I know just how deep our love goes for our companions. Bless her for seeing you to the better side of rehab.

    I had a bike just like that when I was a kid, I mean same color and everything. Hey, did you steal my bike?

    Love the loom, I hope you do too. Enjoy, weave something wonderful in Suzie’s honor. :)

  7. Cally says:

    Oh dear, so sorry about Suzie. That is such a big loss, and especially when she has been so faithful and close to you. You can never ‘replace’ a friend like that even though you make new ones.

    The loom is an absolute beauty. Looking forward to more glamour shots. Oh, and weaving of course.

  8. I am sorry about Suzie – I have read about her for quite a while so I know how important she was to you.

    The looms look lovely. So glad you are going back to weaving.

Comments are closed.