5.11.11

The past month at the Lady’s house has been busy in spite of not blogging about it. My daughter Anne (grad student at U. of Alabama) and her possessions survived the Tornado That Ate Tuscaloosa, my MIL is still in rehab (for her ankle fracture), and my daughter Caroline stepped in a hole at night, in an alley, in the dark, carrying a case of beer for a party and sprained her ankle so badly she might wish it were broken. So I have been sewing and a lot of throw pillows and curtain panels have been created. Here.

The sewing space.


Pillows are addicting. When in doubt, refresh the home with textiles! I am not sure that I think the curtains are “right” but they will do for now. I tried them in the kitchen for a few days but I think they make the north-facing windows darker to the point of dismal so I will come up with another idea for the bay window there.

The whole room view.

The curtain rods still need to be attached to the wall but I think I am ready to do that. I am so happy to have my own sitting room, where the morning sun streams in that I celebrated with a new lamp.

The leaf lamp! From Homegoods.



My favorites!


The complex lumbar pillow with fringe.

So then, I made the Guernsey Wrap by Jared Flood out of Shelter yarn. Maybe it could have been a little wider to be a wrap. Maybe should have used a larger needle size. But I loved working with the yarn. It is a lot like pure handspun from roving.

The artsy shot of the Guernsey wrap


The long view with fruit.

Now I am working on this ruched yoke top from Interweave Knits spring 2011. Using Hempathy. Which is crunchy.

Ruching takes a while.


But I love crunchy, especially in cereal and snack foods.

Next, I will think about finishing Cubix

Cubix on DeeDee. It fits me too!


and start Assets of Evo. Not for me silly. That would be inappropriate, take my word for it.

10 comments on “5.11.11

  1. Rachel says:

    You have inspired me! Curtains is exactly what I need in my bedroom to brighten it up. Thanks! Glad the cousins are (generally) good!

  2. Issy says:

    Well I think you should show us your assets!!

    Love the lamp.

    • ladyoftheloom says:

      Then I would have to mark this blog as “Mature”. Get it? Mature? Not me.

  3. textillian says:

    Wow! You have a lot going on! It all looks great. Wish I had a sewing room (as opposed to a weaving basement.)

    • ladyoftheloom says:

      Patrick! I keep moving my sewing things around but I have been in this room for a while. It is very cozy and the light is right for sewing.

  4. Judy says:

    You do have a lot going on, and I really like your pillows. They add a nice touch to a lovely, relaxing room. I can see why you like it so much.

    I’m glad to hear that your daughter survived the tornadoes! Two of my sons live in Birmingham, and it was scary to think that at one point the tornado was less than 10 miles from where they live.

    • ladyoftheloom says:

      Thanks Judy. Glad your sons are well too! That was a terrifying storm. My daughter was on campus but the storm touched down about 1/4 mile to the NE of where she was working.

  5. Barbara says:

    Love the curtains and pillows. I sure wish I could sew; I’ve had the material for cafe curtains for my craft room for two years!!!

    Hope you are doing well and glad to hear your daughter made it through those awful storms. See you at the next guild meeting?

Comments are closed.