7.10.10 Laundry Lament

Have you ever wondered what it must be like to…
Throw your dirty stuff down a hole in your bathroom wall and have it come back to you without any effort on your part? Just drop it and forget it. Well here you go, in words and pictures.

The Beginning:
IMG_2968.JPG

The Outlet of the Beginning:
IMG_2964.JPG

The Cachepot of the Chute:
IMG_2965.JPG

The Ancient Machines of the Lady’s Laundry:
IMG_2966.JPG

The Baskets of the Washed and Folded:
IMG_2969.JPG

Don’t even get me started about how this stays clean.
IMG_2971.JPG

I have always wondered what it would be like to have this service. How about you? There are those who would say I am lucky to have what I have and I know it. I just wondered what the service would be like.

14 comments on “7.10.10 Laundry Lament

  1. I feel your pain. It is the same thing here.

  2. Barbara says:

    I too have wondered that very same thing! I don’t even think that my Mister even knows what those ancient machines look like-no less how to operate them and where they are located in the house!

  3. textillian says:

    My neighbor when I was growing up had one of those laundry chutes. We loved it! Of course, we were sending Matchbox and Hot Wheels cars down it, not our underwear, so there is a difference.

  4. Kimmen says:

    I would have paid good money just for the chute in my old house. One of the top reasons we up and moved was the basement laundry in a 4 story house. My arthritis just wouldn’t take it any more. When my husband started having to carry the laundry, all of a sudden we needed to move. It was a great house, but I don’t miss that at all. And every once in a while I drop off my laundry at the front desk of the condo now and it comes back all nice and clean. So, yes, it’s pretty awesome.

  5. Chris says:

    That chute makes a wonderful hiding place. Ask me how I know. We were planning to build a house with a chute, but ended up buying one without. Wondering if I can get one to go from the upstairs bathroom to my 1st floor laundry? Not exactly close, but then not too far away from each other. I expect there would have to be a kink which would not work.

  6. Me to. I would love to have some laundry faries!!! Ones that would put the wash away too.

    I agree the next thing on my list would be a shower fairy. I hate that job.

  7. Issy says:

    Heck it’s all I can do to get the dirty laundry brought to the utility room! I don’t have a chute.

    But he does vaccuum AND dust, so I can’t complain.

  8. theresa says:

    Oh, those ancient machines look familiar, let me check, nope, mine are still there taunting me…Laundry fairies, wonder if they could do dishes in the non laundry hours.

  9. ladyoftheloom says:

    Thanks every for your commiseration and laundry chute memories!

    You will be the first to know when I have get a laundry fairy!

  10. Benita says:

    I fixed one part of that – my husband now has to fold his own clothes. And if he doesn’t, he’s not allowed to come to me and ask where something is. “I don’t know. The last I saw it was in your clean laundry basket.” If I say it snarky enough, he won’t bug me.

    As for the shower? I’d be happy with the shower curtain pulled closed when the shower’s use is finished.

  11. bety says:

    I guess I’m kinda lucky Mr. Deepend helps with laundry and cleans both bathrooms :) I hate to clean bathrooms and traded that for the kitchen, dusting and floors. We both like to cook so that chore is always fun for whomever wants to do it.

  12. laurie says:

    I see “tighty whities”!!!!

  13. Charlotte W says:

    I have just broken off from collecting Mr W’s pants, t-shirts and socks from the various hiding places he enjoys sqirreling them away to, and have come to read some blogs to cheer myself up. Your post is very timely and I feel your pain! I love the shoot – we had one of those at university. I lived in a 20 floor tower block and there was a shoot to put your rubbish down, it was great! If you stood in the corridor waiting for the lift (elevator) to come you would hear someone’s rubbish whizzing past from a higher floor.

    • ladyoftheloom says:

      My first chute was in college too! It was also for trash (rubbish). Darn laundry has piled up again….

Comments are closed.