5.23.10 Little Bits and Pieces

This week there has been knitting, sewing, spinning, laundry, dog medicine giving, movie watching, finch visiting, and oh, some shopping.

The knitting on the MS&W Miss Woodhouse Shawlette and a stealth project continues. Miss Woodhouse is just about finished and I added an additional repeat of the first chart.
Miss Woodhouse Reclining
Sewing of two quilt blocks from the Block of the Month series at Quilter’s Corner in Midlothian. Sweet little 30′s reproduction prints into highly geometric and classic quilt blocks, one a month for a year. Not too much to tackle when I have been out of the quilting game for a while. The 30′s reproductions fabrics are sweet. Mary Had a Little Lamb, Three Bears on the other. Mr. Lady said “those are really pastel-ee for you”. I don’t use these colors much but they are irresistible.

Quilt Block #1

Quilt Block #2

Suzie-dog is sick with some sort of protozoa that she picked up from who knows where, maybe the kennel on one of her nature walks. The vet said maybe she drank bad creek water or ate the wrong thing. $60 and 2 antibiotics and a reluctant doggie. Deli ham makes the pills go down without awareness and she is feeling better. And the p**ps are formed now. Like you needed to hear that.

We watched the new Russell Crowe/Cate Blanchett Robin Hood in the theater! $30 for 3 tickets and $8 for a giant bucket of popcorn that made me feel ill even though I shared with Caroline and Mr. Lady. Mr. Lady doesn’t like popcorn but I could live on it I think. Yep, with “butter” (what is that stuff anyway? Gross thought). I hardly ever go to the movies and I want to do it up right so I always seem to over do it. The movie was weird. Good, lots of sword fighting, funny lines, costumes, horses, longbows but not what I was expecting and the theater had a whopping total of 12 people in it on a dreary Saturday afternoon. At $10 a ticket I think I know why. Wait for it on DVD people.

I saw the finch family yesterday and today, the one that made the nest in my wreath. The parents and the 5 babies visited my front porch windows and chirped and sang as I was coming down the stairs yesterday morning. It was nice to see them because they have not been around since the nest emptied out. It has been weeks and the mom is still feeding one of them. I guess he might have been the last to fly out of the nest. After they sat in my windows they flew up to the flag and sat on the pole then flew up into the beech tree. I swear they visit me on purpose just to show off.

The shopping?
Some cotton for double weave stuff. More on that another time. I just wound a warp of cottolin for some more twill tea towels. Hobby weaver. Multicraftual.

Bye!

14 comments on “5.23.10 Little Bits and Pieces

  1. Issy says:

    The blocks are very pretty. And the shawl is loking great! I’m paying more attention to mine since I MAILED my stealth project last Friday. Just sayin’ :)

  2. Cally says:

    Gorgeous yarns! I must be a magpie ’cause that gold in the middle there is just singing out to me.

    • ladyoftheloom says:

      I think I will get around to putting up the color numbers when I do the post about the project. All of the yarns are from Halcyon in Maine.

  3. textillian says:

    Wow! You are busy!

  4. Chris says:

    Pretty shawl.

    I planned to see it until I heard it was very historically incorrect and that Maid Marion was somehow a capable warrior in no armor. Really?

    • ladyoftheloom says:

      Yep, not so correct. Maid Marion somehow got a perfect fitting suit of chainmail during the movie and wore it in the final battle scene. She almost drowned too but Robin revived her with a kiss….

  5. Benita says:

    What sweet little quilt blocks. I love the fabric!

    And the colors for the next weaving project look scrumptious! Nice and cheerful!

    I haven’t been to a movie theater in years. Netflix is just too handy, and you can pause for a bathroom break whenever you want. Popcorn is cheaper, too. And then there’s the comfy couch… :)

    • ladyoftheloom says:

      These fabrics are in a lot of quilt stores but for some reason I never fell victim to them.

      Yep, Netflix is definitely my style too!

  6. kitkatknit says:

    Interesting. A friend of mine went with a group to see Robin Hood last night and there were only 12 people in the theater too. Tickets are $9.50 and the large popcorn is $11 here.

  7. me says:

    methinks you are living in the past–old school quilting and going to a movie theater!

  8. You’ve picked great colors for your doubleweave project! (By coincidence, I have doubleweave on one loom and cottolin for towels on the other…but neither are actually ready to be woven.)

    Anyway, I hope you find your creative mojo!!! Now that the unlikely event of having friends over for dinner kicked me into gear, I’m promising myself that I’ll do 15 minutes a day on something crafty whenever possible. That doesn’t seem like too much of a commitment, and hopefully it will keep me from getting stalled for the whole summer!

    Good luck finding your mojo again!! (If you’re threading a warp, it’s not all the way gone!)
    Sue

Comments are closed.