1/20/10

Fichu? What does that mean? It sounds bad.

I started the 2nd shawl for Ravelry group “10 Shawls in 2010″. I doubt I will make 10 shawls this year but it is certainly fun to try. So, this is the Ruffled Fichu of Jane Sowerby from Knitter’s Magazine #88 from Fall 2007. The red/purple is Claudia Hand Painted kid mohair and the gray is handspun wool/silk, fiber from The Bellwether, spun on a spindle.

Ruffled Fichu

I have been searching for shawl patterns on ravelry when this one was in an old issue of Knitter’s magazine from 2007. I don’t think I ever even looked at this issue and who knows why I bought it, I think maybe to take with me on the UK trip. It was the issue before her marvelous shawl book came out. Knitter’s is not my usually my favorite magazine for a lot of reasons, and I have become less and less inspired by the patterns in knitting magazines in general. The designs are overdone. The garments are too fitted for me to feel comfy wearing them. And for me things are all about comfort.

3 comments on “1/20/10

  1. What a beautiful color combo!! Love it!!

    Sue

  2. Chris says:

    I agree. I have dropped all my knit magazines and rarely pick them up at the bookstore.

    Love the color combo!

  3. deborahbee says:

    Thank you for your comment and I am so pleased to be introduced to another spinner/weaver.It is especially great that you have a Suzie Pro so we can exchange experiences. I will visit you again and put you in my Favourites.I am fascinated by shawls and want to try a circular lace one when I spin the correct yarn!!!

Comments are closed.