12.30.09 Once in a Blue Moon

I read on CNN that there is going to be a blue moon this New Year’s Eve. It feels like that is how often I post to my latent blog too! Ah well, it is my blog, I can do what I want with it.

This holiday season has been weird. Let me just say that I have lost all semblance of the real meaning of Christmas in my life. This all started years ago and has only become more pronounced with the passing years. I seriously dislike how I live during the holiday season from Thanksgiving to New Years and cannot wait to pack it all up in its old cardboard boxes and get back to normal life. Don’t get me wrong, I like my decorations that have accumulated over years of life. But the frenzy that accompanies the decor and visitations and feeling guilty about various aspects of the season are enough to put me in a place with lots of blankets, if you know what I mean. Mostly the guilt and emotional turmoil comes of things done and not done, not appreciated, not reciprocated, on my part and the parts of others. Did that make sense?

My SIL Debbie gave me a couple of new ornaments. She made the three in this picture over the years since I have known her and this year made the penguin.
IMG_2512.JPG

The Blizzard of ’09 was fun. That was the most amazing holiday gift! Completely out of the blue and unexpected. I love snow, the clean pure cold white soft quiet calm of new deep snow. We rarely get snow here in RIchmond. Do I have a picture of it? Not really. Not during the best days of it. Only after it had been here at least 3 days and was starting to melt.
IMG_2488.JPG

Fortunately we had retrieved our youngest and occasionally blog-appearing daughter from her college a day earlier than planned. The predicted snow caused a hurry up and get her day and it was a really good thing because I-95 ended up a parking lot during the storm. If you are familiar with the stretch of I-95 between Richmond and Washington, D.C. you know that can happen on a dry sunny day. Here she is in the Manchester Jacket that she took possession of soon after she found it in the jumble of my closet. She was nice to model it for my Ravelry page photo. I am letting her have it, since it fits her much better than it fits me.
IMG_2483.JPG
I also gave her this entrelac scarf of 3-ply handspun polwarth, roving from Rovings.
IMG_2480.JPG

We waited for our eldest daughter to come home for 4 days. She was supposed to show on the Tuesday before Christmas and eventually turned up on Christmas Day, late in the afternoon after Caroline and I had gone to see the new movie “Nine”. We see Anne so seldom that I didn’t want to miss a minute of her drive by visit. I have my analysis of why she does this but since I am not a trained psychological professional I will keep it to myself. Anyway, it was nice to share the same house/room/couch with her for a few hours and to listen to her laugh. She has the most addictive laugh you will ever hear and I hear it all too seldom. She graduated this year from Virginia Tech with a degree in Engineering after a lot of hard work, bad times and fun times too I am sure. I just hope it didn’t cause some very valuable neuronal connections to fail in the process.I gave her a pair of hand knitted socks that I don’t have a picture of for some reason. They were from Sheeppaints wool and very lovely.

Here is Mr. Lady’s Christmas gift. He basically took it as soon as it was off the loom a few weeks ago during the Blizzard. Theresa at Camp Runamuck is making something similar! I know hers will be as appreciated as mine was! This scarf is woven from:
Warp: sock wool, 75/25, Teal Kroy socks and Lion Brand sock for the light gray.
Sett: 12epi.
Weft: Teal Kroy Socks.
Hemstitching each end.
IMG_2509.JPG
IMG_2507.JPG

7 comments on “12.30.09 Once in a Blue Moon

  1. Hi, Lady – so nice to hear you speak! I agree and I understand. ‘nough said, eh?

    Take care of yourself and the Mr.
    Happy New Year, friend,
    =^,^=

  2. Susan says:

    I agree with your sentiments completely about the feelings surrounding Xmas. You may be surprized to know that you are not alone with those feelings. We all seem to battle ‘expectations’ ….and experience good moments and some surprisingly sad ones too. I suspect that we all have this internal image of what a ‘prefect Xmas’ is (as helped along by the media and our imaginations!)

    Great that the kids came home no matter what the time. I’m pining for my daughter who is in North Carolina and me waaay over here on the west coast of Canada. An in person hug is all the gift I need.

    Love the scarf!! My hub is now hinting that he’s due a new scarf and he would be right…
    Thanks ….

    Happy New Year! Susan

  3. Add me to the chorus of people who are happier when Christmas is over. So many expectations heaped upon one “festive” season. Ah January…when things settle down!

    You’ve made some lovely gifts in this post. I really love that entrelac scarf. All of your work is beautiful.

    Wishing you all the best in the coming year!

    Sue

  4. Issy says:

    Same bunch of Christmas humbuggy feelings here. Too much of everything i think.

    Love the scarf.

  5. Laurie says:

    Happy Christmas-is-finally-over New Year to you! Thinking of you and enjoying your lovely photos.

    Best Wishes for a relaxing January and more snow in Richmond!!!!

  6. me says:

    Had you come to the caroling party, all feelings of emptiness would have disappeared because they were so damned many cookies here. Know what ya mean. Happy New Year to you all.

    me

  7. babyface says:

    I feel the same way you do about Chrismas. Always
    a day late and behind anymore. Gets to be a lot of
    stress. I did get to see my great grandbaby. The highlight of the holidays. He’s so cute and very
    social. He will be one year old on January l5th. I love
    your scarf, but then I always love your colors. Unlike
    you, I don’t like the snow. It’s four degrees here and
    I have to go to the doctor tomorrow, if I don’t freeze
    in the process of getting there. Happy Healthy New Year.

Comments are closed.