6.28.09 Summer Fun

Summer used to be my favorite season. Outdoor activitites are no longer on the calendar because of the heat and humidity here and my intolerance of it. In past years there were water related activities to be added into the mix but we no longer belong to an outdoor pool association so that is not an option. AND, the sun rashes I get are hideously ugly. I will spare you the pictures I took of myself with a rash after the week at the beach even though I wore TONS of sunblock and a hat.

The family beach week was enjoyable for the most part, but I don’t think we will be doing that again for quite a while. Suffice it to say, the family members have diverse interests, not all of which are enjoyed or even tolerated by the other family members. A week was too long.

I did manage to find nice yarns at the Outer Banks. There is a lovely yarn shop in Southern Shores called Knitting Addiction. In all of my years vacationing in the area I have never been to this shop! I came home with a pattern for the Omega Wrap by Chris Bylsma and the yarns to complete it and a hank (now a ball) of Mango Moon Rayon Ribbon. I have tried to get gauge for a small bag with it but it hasn’t worked out yet. The Omega Wrap is almost finished but even getting gauge I have had to add in another color stripe. This is not my usual type of project or yarn: I almost never work with 100% cotton yarns.
IMG_2222.JPG
IMG_2220.JPG

This past Friday and Saturday I spent with friends old and new. We gathered to celebrate Wendy’s book signing trip to Richmond. Of course I could not leave the Yarn Lounge on Saturday without some goodies. I thought I had a plan for the wool but it turns out I can’t decide.
IMG_2216.JPG
IMG_2219.JPG

Here are some of the other things that have occupied my weeks since my last post.

Books have been read
IMG_2200.JPG

Fiber has been spun
IMG_2205.JPG

Socks and sweaters have been knitted
IMG_2195.JPG

IMG_2203.JPG

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/coppacabana/3668003085/&quot; title="IMG_2210.JPG by sheeprulealiceknits, on Flickr">IMG_2210.JPG

The Guardian of the Loom (which is warped for a rug that is as yet unwoven).
IMG_2214.JPG

I hope you are having a fun Summer and I am so glad to see Carin’s blog back in action!

3 comments on “6.28.09 Summer Fun

  1. Susan Babb says:

    Nice to see your updates! What kind of spinning wheel do you have? I think you told me once…..

  2. Issy says:

    Sorry I missed you at the YL yesterday.It was a little busy when I was there! I have the Omega Wrap pattern too AND I bought it at Knitting Addiction!! Small knitting world!

  3. rivercityweaves says:

    Did we talk about Barbara Pym? Did you know she is my fave authoress!?
    Hooray for you. You have been busy this summer. I’m gettin’ P. ready for Univ.
    Miss ya and what great memories the cork/metal sprinkle head bring back

Comments are closed.